Still Standing

I have found myself standing on mountain tops and at the edges of mile-deep canyons.

I have found myself standing on top of swing sets and willow trees.

I have found myself standing on stages and podiums in front of applause that didn’t mean a thing.

I have found myself standing on false pedestals, only to be pushed off  or cause myself to fall.

I have found myself standing in shadows of abuse and power disguised as “love”.

I have found myself standing next to an incubator in an Intensive care unit for new borns touching my daughter and praying to angels.

I have found myself standing in my own back yard looking towards the heavens and talking out loud.

I have found myself standing in shallow lake waters and on the beaches of oceans.

I have found myself standing on my father’s feet as he danced.

I have found myself standing on my pedals as I push up hills and mountains out of breath.

I have found myself standing next to the love of my life.

I have found myself.

I am still standing.

Leave a Reply

